Skip to main content
 

You can add users to the Expel Workbench. This is helpful because you may need other members of your staff to see the status of your environment or view what's going on.

Before you add a user, make sure you know the level of access the user needs: Organization Analyst or Organization Admin. Administrator rights shouldn't be assigned to everyone. For example, only Organization Admins can add new users and edit or delete user accounts in Workbench.

Note

For specific details about what each role can do, see User role rights in Expel Workbench.

Click to jump to the task at hand:

Tip

This article was accurate at the time of writing, but changes happen. If you find the instructions are outdated, leave a description in the comment field below and let us know!

Add user account

To add a user to your organization, take these steps:

  1. In a new browser tab, login to https://workbench.expel.io.

  2. From any screen, click Settings and then click Users. The Users list appears.

    mceclip0.png
  3. In the upper right, click + Add User.

    mceclip3.png
  4. The Add User screen appears. Complete the following:

    mceclip4.png
    • Email/Username: Must be an email address.

    • Homepage: select the page that always appears when this person opens the Workbench.

    • First name: the user's first name.

    • Last name: the user's last name.

    • Organization: select the organization this user should have access to. If you don't have multiple organizations, this list is unavailable.

    • Workbench user role: select Organization Admin or Organization Analyst role for this user.

      Tip

      Keep in mind that Organization Admin gives full administrator rights to your organization's Workbench.

    • Default filtering (alerts, alert ticker, activity): Select the filtering you want for this user (Show everything, MDR service only, or Phishing service only). Show everything is the default.

    • Assignable: select if you want this user to be assigned alerts, actions, or investigations. For example, an analyst needs to see these. An admin may not need to see them.

  5. Click Save. If the save is successful, you see 2 messages:

    mceclip6.png
  6. The new user account appears with a Locked status.

    Note

    The account can't be used until it's activated. See Activate your Workbench account for instructions.

    mceclip7.png
  7. After the user account is activated, the Status changes to Active or Assignable.

    mceclip1.png

Resend Enrollment Email

To resend a user enrollment email message, take these steps:

  1. In a new browser tab, login to https://workbench.expel.io.

  2. From any screen, click Settings and then click Users.

    mceclip0.png
  3. On the right side of the screen, click the Down Arrow for the user. A menu appears.

    mceclip3.png
  4. Select Resend Enrollment Email.

    mceclip5.png
  5. A success message appears.

    mceclip6.png

Edit user account

To edit user information or settings, take these steps:

  1. In a new browser tab, login to https://workbench.expel.io.

  2. From any screen, click Settings and then click Users.

    mceclip0.png
  3. On the right side of the screen, click the Down Arrow for the user. A menu appears.

    mceclip3.png
  4. Select View & Edit. User account information appears.

    mceclip2.png
  5. To edit user information and settings, click Edit User. Note: To edit User Notifications, see the User notifications setup for Workbench.

    mceclip4.png
  6. The Edit User screen appears. Editing works the same as for Add user account.

    mceclip6.png
  7. After you click Save, you see an edit success message.

    mceclip7.png

Lock/Unlock user account

To lock or unlock a user account, take these steps:

  1. In a new browser tab, login to https://workbench.expel.io.

  2. From any screen, click Settings and then click Users.

    mceclip0.png
  3. On the right side of the screen, click the Down Arrow for the user. A menu appears.

    mceclip3.png
  4. Select Lock or Unlock.

    mceclip1.png
  5. The account status changes accordingly.

    Note

    If the status message says Locked - Re-enrollment sent, it means the account must be reactivated by the user. For instructions, see Activate your Workbench account.

    mceclip0.png

Delete user account

To delete a user account, take these steps:

Note

The account is deleted immediately and the user account is no longer listed.

  1. In a new browser tab, login to https://workbench.expel.io.

  2. From any screen, click Settings and then click Users.

    mceclip0.png
  3. On the right side of the screen, click the Down Arrow for the user. A menu appears.

    mceclip3.png
  4. Select Delete. The Delete User popup appears.

    mceclip0.png
  5. Click Delete. The delete success message appears.

    mceclip5.png